Berkeley School of Education at AERA 2024

Many students and faculty at Berkeley School of Education will be attending the American Educational Research Association's 2024 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia. It is the world's largest gathering of education researchers and a showcase for groundbreaking, innovative studies in an array of areas. 

This year's theme is, "Dismantling Racial Injustice and Constructing Educational Possibilities: A Call to Action." Below are some highlights. This page will be updated as more news is announced. (Updated April 12, 2024)

professor kris gutierrez smiling at camera

Distinguished Professor Kris D. Gutiérrez, Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award. This award is the premier acknowledgment of outstanding achievement and success in education research.

Professor Zeus Leonardo, Senior Scholar Award, AERA SIG 27. Keynote address: Friday, April 12, 6:45 p.m., Pennsylvania Convention Center, Floor: Level 100, Room 108B

professor janelle scott smiling wearing light blue blouse

Professor Janelle T. Scott, AERA President. Scott, who holds the Robert J. and Mary Catherine Birgeneau Distinguished Chair in Educational Disparities, begins her one-year term at the conclusion of this year's annual meeting. 

alumn ilana horn smiling at camera

Ilana Horn PhD ‘02, MA ‘98, elected AERA Fellow. Horn is a professor at Peabody College at Vanderbilt University.

doctoral student michael bakal smiling at camera

Michael Bakal, doctoral student, Graduate Student Award, Cultural Historical Research (SIG #30). Bakal's research focuses on participatory and youth-engaged approaches to the design and evaluation of learning environments. 

alum elizabeth davis smiling at camera

Elizabeth Davis PhD '98, MA '94, elected AERA Fellow. Davis, a professor in the Marsal Family School of Education at the University of Michigan, is a science educator, teacher educator, and learning scientist.

portrait image of Professor travis bristol

Associate Professor Travis J. Bristol, Early Career Award. This award honors an individual in the early stages of their career no later than 10 years after receipt of the doctoral degree (any field of educational inquiry).

assistant professor eos trinidad smiling at camera

Assistant Professor Jose Eos Trinidad, elected program chair of Organizational Theory, Special Interest Group #073. Trinidad's one-year term begins in 2024.

alum maisha t winn smiling at camera

BSE alum Maisha T. Winn PhD ‘03, voted AERA-president elect. Winn is the Chancellor’s Leadership Professor in the School of Education at UC Davis. Her term as president begins at the conclusion of the 2025 annual meeting.

alum danny bernard martin smiling at camera

Danny Bernard Martin PhD '97, elected AERA Fellow. Martin is a professor in the College of Education at the University of Illinois Chicago.

alum rachel williams smiling at camera

Rachel E. Williams PhD '22, Outstanding Dissertation Award, Educational Policy & Politics (Division L). Williams is an assistant professor in the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

four kids standing next to each other smiling at camera with chalkboard in the background

The Tracking and Detracking SIG engages teachers, administrators, teacher educators, researchers, policymakers and community members in a continuing dialogue about tracking and detracking.

A E R A annual meeting logo text has basic information about the event date location and theme
colorful art work with swirls on a textured background made to look like brick

AERA Presidential Sessions. BSE faculty are involved with six Presidential Sessions. See the scheduled line-up.

clipart of philadelphia skyline B S E logo on the left and reception date april 11

Click on the image above to submit your RSVP, or click on this link to fill out the RSVP form.

Questions about BSE @ AERA? 

Send an email to

Updated April 12, 2024